Board Members' News

Nurses Educational Funds Celebrated the 2023-2024 NEF Scholars In A Zoom Event on October 17, 2023

All forty two (42) NEF Scholars for 2023 were honored in October by NEF. Over 135 people were in attendance to hear each NEF Scholar briefly tell about their exceptional graduate studies and achievements. The audience included members of the NEF Boar... read more.

In 2023, the American Academy of Nursing Inducted One NEF Board Member and Three NEF Scholars

Nurses Educational Funds is extremely honored to announce Dr. Michele Crespo-Fierro , NEF Board member; Irvin Ong a current 2023 NEF Scholar; Dr. Rebecca Hill , NEF Scholar in 2019 and 2020; and Dr. Calli Cook , NEF Scholar, 2018, have been inducted... read more.

NEF 2022-2023 Scholar Liaison Board Member, Annie George, PhD, Awarded NYC Health + Hospitals’ Nursing Excellence Leader

NYC Health + Hospitals today announced that Annie George, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, NPD-BC, CCRN-K, Senior Director of Nursing Excellence/Research is the recipient of the Press Ganey Nurse of the Year – Nurse Leader award . The inaugural award was presented t... read more.

Rosanne Raso, MS, RN, NEA-BC

Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer at New York-Presbyterian/Weill Cornell, was selected as a member of the 2018 class of the American Academy of Nursing Fellows. Fellow selection criteria include evidence of significant contributions to nursing... read more.

Mathy Mezey, EdD, RN, FAAN

Mathy Mezey joined the Nurses Educational Funds, Inc. Board of Directors in April 2017 and will be chairing the Thelma Schorr Society. The focus of Dr. Mezey’s interest and scholarship has been on nursing ethics and care of older adults, focusing on... read more.

Edwidge J. Thomas, DNP, ANP

Dr. Edwidge Thomas joined the NEF Board of Directors in 2017 and serves on the Executive Committee, Criteria and Eligibility Committee, and Finance/Investment Committee. Edwidge is currently employed with Holdings and Ventures to provide clinical lea... read more.

Thelma Schorr, BSN, RN, FAAN

This year the American Journal of Nursing under the leadership of the AJN Editor in Chief, Maureen “Shawn” Kennedy has renamed the American Journal of Nursing Scholarship annually distributed by Nurses Educational Funds, Inc. as the AJN/Thelma Schorr... read more.

Villanova University President the Rev. Peter M. Donohue, OSA, PhD, announced the naming of the M. Louise Fitzpatrick College of Nursing

Villanova University President the Rev. Peter M. Donohue, OSA, PhD, announced the naming of the M. Louise Fitzpatrick College of Nursing, honoring the college’s visionary dean who passed away in September, 2017. Villanova’s College of Nursing develop... read more.

Judith Vessey

Judith Vessey, has been chosen as one of Sigma Theta Tau "International Honor Society of Nursing 2016 Nurse Researcher Award Recipients"! The research awards will be presented in South Africa in August 2016. read more.

Madeleine Sugimoto

NEF Board Member, was on the Tony Guida's CUNY Network New York Show on March 2, 2016 discussing her experiences as a very young child living in the Japanese Internment Camps, during World War II. The segment can be watched online now. read more.

Margaret McClure

Margaret McClure continues her active speaking career in addressing the value of the Magnet Recognition Program for staff nurses at all the Montefiore network hospitals in the Bronx (Montefiore Medical Center, Albert Einstein Hospital, and Wakefield... read more.


Tayyebeh Borogerdi

(2016-2017 Winner)

Tayyebeh is the winner of Lucy C. Perry Fund Scholarship for public health. She is currently a doctoral candidate at Binghamton University, and her research focuses on high-risk pregnant patients, and rural hea... read more.

Donate Today

Support a Graduate Nurse’s Education

NEF’s only purpose is to provide nursing scholarship assistance to make graduate level nursing education possible. NEF is the largest, single, private, professionally endorsed source of funds for advanced nursing study with over one hundred years of service to and for professional nursing.

NEF’s Board of Directors is comprised of leaders from nursing, education, technology, and business communities. Members donate their time and talent to the advancement of the nursing profession. NEF operates with exceptionally low overhead. NEF employs only one individual who serves in several capacities. NEF is a non-profit organization with 501(c) status; thus, your contributions are fully tax-deductible.